Food · Uncategorized

Sweet Potato Hash

This is my favorite weekend-brunch-at-home meal to make! You can use so many different ingredients. which if you couldn’t tell is my favorite aspect of any recipe. When I plan to eat this right away, I fry an egg sunny-side-up to place on top, break the yolk (so satisfying) and mix it all together. Sometimes, though, I make a large amount to save for breakfast throughout the week, and so I scramble in two or three eggs with the potatoes.

Sweet potatoes and Aidell’s Chicken and Apple Sausage are a staple in my kitchen. I then ruffle through my fridge and see what else I can add… sometimes it’s bell peppers, an onion, maybe an apple, carrots or even brussel sprouts. Mix it all up, throw in an egg, top with sriracha and you’ve got yourself a meal.

IMG_4221

IMG_4211

IMG_4214

IMG_4220

Sweet Potato Hash
Serves: 4

2 large sweet potatoes
1 large red onion
1 large granny smith apple
4 Aidell’s Chicken & Apple sausage links
4 Eggs
Scallions to top (optional)

First, wash the sweet potatoes and/or peel them, if you prefer. Cut them into small chunks and boil them.

While that’s cookin…
Peel the apple, then cut that and the onion into small chunks. Slice the sausage links into bite size pieces. Melt coconut oil in a large pan, then saute the sausage. Once it starts to brown, add the onion and apple and cook until soft. Then, drain the potatoes and add those into the pan. Combine and allow to cook together for a few more minutes.

When eating immediately I advise that you –

Heat a small frying pan on the stove, crack and egg onto it and cook sunny side up until white is firm. You can place a lid on the pan to speed this up! Serve that on top of the bowl and top with chopped scallions and sriracha.

I then take what’s left and to that scramble in two or three eggs. I heat this throughout the week for breakfast or even lunch!

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

