Food · Uncategorized

Spaghetti Squash “wait, why am I calling this chow mein?!!” Chow Mein

I gained inspiration for this dish from something I came across on Pinterest, since I’ve been pinning Paleo meals like CRAY-ZY. I’ve had it pinned for a while now and since I just bought spaghetti squash AND cabbage, I knew that this would be the perfect time to try it out! I glanced at the recipe to get an idea of what to do and used what was in my pantry to whisk up an Asian sauce, like I usually do. Investing in liquid aminos and sesame oil, specifically, is one of the best supermarket decisions I’ve ever made. I can’t get enough of Asian food but always felt like my stir fries and dressings were missing something I just couldn’t put my finger on. Once I started adding sesame oil, I realized that was it!! I was sold forever.

Fast forward to Sunday evening as I’m whisking up my sauce and I can’t help but wonder… why the HECK am I calling this “chow mein”?!! Well… it’s “a Chinese-style dish of fried noodles with shredded meat or seafood and vegetables”… Wikipedia says that chow mein literally translates into fried noodles. I guess if you can call spaghetti squash noodles (which I do) it’s totally chow mein.

Step one in Spaghetti Squash Chow Mein from rootveggies.com

Sauteed veggies for Spaghetti Squash Chow Mein

Spaghetti squash chow mein from rootveggies.com
Spaghetti Squash Chow Mein
Serves: 4

1/2 Spaghetti Squash, roasted
1 small-ish head of broccoli
3 cups cole slaw mix (Shredded green cabbage, red cabbage and carrots)
2 cloves garlic
Coconut oil

Sauce time…
4 Tbs liquid aminos
4 Tbs rice wine vinegar
1 Tbs Sriracha
1 tsp sesame oil
1/2 tsp grated ginger (to taste)
1 Tbs sesame seeds
First… roast the spaghetti squash and shred it up using the directions from my Spaghetti Squash Breakfast Bite recipe. I actually made this dish on the same day using the other half of the squash.

Next, mix your sauce. Combine all the ingredients in a bowl and whisk away until it’s well combined. Taste it and adjust to your preference!

Prepare the rest of your produce… Mince or finely chop the garlic and then cut the broccoli florets into small pieces. Measure out your cole slaw mix – leave it as is or give it a quick chop.

Place a Tbs of coconut oil on a hot frying pan and once it’s melted, add the garlic and cook till it’s brown and crispy. Stir in your veggies until they just start to wilt. Form a “well” in the center of the pan and add the spaghetti squash. Combine all the ingredients in the pan and let it brown for a few minutes. Add the sauce and mix again. Give it another 2 minutes or so to caramelize… and you’re done!

Chow Mein. Fried “Noodles”.

Enjoy.

One thought on “Spaghetti Squash “wait, why am I calling this chow mein?!!” Chow Mein

Leave a Reply

