Food · Uncategorized

Spaghetti Squash Breakfast Bites

Spaghetti Squash is totally the coolest root veggie.

I first discovered this yellow-orange-hued beauty just a few years ago. I mainly used it as a substitute for pasta, covered in sauce and sometimes topped with sausage or meatballs, maybe even pesto. I’ve recently ventured in different ways to use it and I am LOVING all that it can do! It’s versatile (my fave) and delicious (my other fave). While it maintains it’s flavor and bite I really like how it’s easily adaptable to different flavor profiles… Asian, Italian, Mexican…

Since I’m mostly just cooking for myself and my sister these days I was able to use ONE large spaghetti squash TWO WAYS. Let me tell you about this one little recipe I pretty much invented on the spot…

spaghettisquashpre

Step one in Spaghetti Squash Chow Mein from rootveggies.com

Breakfast Bites Served

Spaghetti Squash Breakfast Bites
Makes 12 “muffins”

1/2 Spaghetti Squash
6 Eggs
Aidell’s Chicken Apple Sausage
Coconut Oil
Salt, Pepper, Oregano and Dried Parsley

First, ya gotta roast your Squash. Here’s how I do it – cut it in half length-wise then use a spoon to scoop out the seeds. Rub the inside with coconut oil, salt & pepper then stick it in a pre-heated oven at 450 for about 30-40 minutes. Once it’s cooled, use a fork to shred it into pasta-like strands.

While the squash is roasting, prepare the rest of your ingredients. The store I went to only had the “mini” chicken-apple sausage, so that’s what I bought, but the regular kind will do just as well (and I actually prefer it). Slice and dice your sausage then saute with melted coconut oil over medium heat. Then, beat six eggs in a bowl.

Another note: You could eliminate the sausage and make this dish vegetarian. Add spinach or mushrooms to “beef” it up.

Dump the shredded squash in a bowl and sprinkle in some salt, pepper, oregano, dried parsley… and mix well.

Grease a muffin pan with coconut oil. You can even line them with cupcake liners for easier clean-up.

Drop a spoonful of spaghetti squash on the bottom of each cup, then use your fingers or a spoon and press a well into the center of each one. Be careful not the break through to the bottom. Place a few pieces of sausage into each cup and then pour some of the egg mixture on top, evenly distributing it to all 12 cups.

Bake at 450 until the eggs are set and golden brown, about 20. Use a butter knife around the edges and pop them out to cool.

Enjoy.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Spaghetti Squash Breakfast Bites

Leave a Reply

