Food · Uncategorized

“I need to eat a skinny person”

It’s been some time since an actual food post, but that’s because it’s been a while since I’ve actually COOKED. At least cooked anything that I deem “blog worthy”… which means not scrambled eggs and sausage and peppers. I’ve been pretty busy the past few weeks applying for jobs, interviewing for jobs and running around that I’ve been dining out or being cooked for a lot more than I’ve made anything myself. But… with all this take-out, Chinese food, carbs and dairy… I’ve been feeling bloated, sluggish and all around not so hot.

I’ve been contemplating going Paleo for some time now… I’ve dabbled in the Whole 30 before (I say dabbled because I never made it the WHOLE 30 days) and really felt the effects. However, my lifestyle just doesn’t allow for complete elimination (Hard cider and sushi keeps me sane) so I’ve adapted the “everything in moderation” mantra. Not only have I resisted ice cream this week, I even bought my first pair of sneakers since I’ve been home from Thailand (uhhhh… that’s 1.5 years)! I’m faaaaaaaar from active and therefore embarrassingly out of shape, so I see this as a positive step towards becoming happier and healthier.

Speaking of happy… not much makes me happier than spending time in a grocery store… and that’s exactly what I did on Sunday! But not just any grocery store… FAIRWAY, my 3rd favorite grocery store! (Trader Joe’s comes in first with Stop & Shop at number 2 and an honorary Wegmen’s mention… in case you were wondering.)

I went in with a pretty generic list and wasn’t sure what I was making this week, but had some ideas in mind. I resisted buying all the turkey jerky since my list was mainly just a ton of produce… spaghetti squash, rainbow carrots, shredded cabbage (cole slaw mix), broccoli, bell peppers, onions, beets, strawberries, kiwi… and some meat… chicken breast, Aidell’s Chicken Apple sausage, ground turkey, Applegate Turkey breast… and a few things I found along the way like cilantro pesto (quite similar to chimichurri), honey banana chips, plantain chips, nuts, mango salsa, coconut oil and Chime’s ginger chews.

Applegate
Thanks, Applegate, for ensuring that my turkey made some friends on the farm. 😉

Never underestimate just what a good meal prep day can do for your week. I prepared breakfast for the week,  hot lunch/dinner options, cold lunch options and snacks. Grabbing a bag of cut strawberries for a snack is just as easy as grabbing some Oreo’s… and that ease of access will help you make the right choice (speaking from experience).

Here’s what I made from my list so far…HAHAHA

Chicken Fajitas 

Spaghetti Squash Breakfast Bites

Spaghetti Squash “wait, why am I calling this chow mein?!!” Chow Mein

Sesame-Ginger Mini Turkey Meatballs

And a variety of salads, turkey sandwiches and hard-boiled eggs…

 

One thought on ““I need to eat a skinny person”

Leave a Reply

