Food · Uncategorized

Caramelized Onion & Garlic Cream Sauce

I’ve been craving creamy Alfredo lately but I’m not into the over processed, packed with preservatives and unnatural ingredients jar sauce or making the sauce myself.

However, a snow day is a great day to experiment with foods! I didn’t have any pasta on hand, but I had a sweet potato, which I happily pair with anything! So I made baked sweet potato topped with a creamy sauce.

After searching on Pinterest for quite some time, I came across this recipe for Butter Garlic Cream Sauce and decided to try it myself but with the ingredients that I had on hand. My sister looked at me with disgust as I piled the sauce onto her potato half (I’ll admit it isn’t that pretty) but she has learned to trust what I cook because I hardly let her down, except for the time I ordered vegetable dumplings at a Chinese restaurant. She’s definitely my harshest most honest critic and she finished the whole thing!

IMG_3621

IMG_3625

IMG_3627

Baked Sweet Potato and Caramelized Onion and Garlic Cream Sauce with Asparagus

Serves: 2

1 – Medium Sweet Potato (1/2 per serving)
1 – small bunch of asparagus
Cheese of your choice
Olive Oil, Salt, Pepper

For the sauce:
1/2 – onion sliced into thin slivers (I had red on hand but any onion will do)
3 – cloves of garlic, minced
2 Tbs – Butter
1 Cup – Milk
2 Tbs – Whole wheat flour or cornstarch
Spices – red pepper flake, Italian seasoning

First, get your potato in the oven – it’ll need about 30-40 minutes at 400 degrees. When there’s about 10 minutes left, right before you start your sauce, put your asparagus in the oven with a little Olive Oil, Salt and Pepper.

After the asparagus is in, melt the butter in a saucepan over medium-high heat. When it’s melted, add your onion and garlic.
Stir and cover – cook until very soft and caramelized.
Next, add the flour to thicken. Let it cook for about a minute.
Add the milk, spices and stir. Reduce heat to medium-low and cover.
Let the sauce reduce for about 5 minutes, stirring occasionally to prevent sticking. The sauce is ready when it’s nice and thick and has a “brown butter” coloring. Mine wasn’t so pretty, but it is delicious.

Finally, plate! Slice your baked potato in half and score. Using tongs, place the sauce on top of the potato. Serve the asparagus on the side. I sprinkled goat cheese on top of the sauce and it just added to the creaminess… I recommend it! My sister used mozzarella and enjoyed hers just as much.

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

