Food · Uncategorized

When stuck inside in a blizzard… make quiche!

I’m sitting in front of my window as I type this watching the snow fly around outside. Long Island is in a “state of emergency” while the first real snowfall we’ve had all season piles on the inches. The roads aren’t plowed, businesses are closed and supermarket shelves have been practically empty all week! It’s always amusing to see how others react to this kind of weather – scared of all they’ll be without, yet most of it is probably something they don’t usually have anyways. I personally didn’t run to the store to buy up all the bread, though I did leave with extra milk and eggs. However, that wasn’t to stockpile in case of hibernation but so I could spend my snowed in morning making a quiche.

In the past few months quiche has become one of my favorite foods. It is so simple to make and always good. Yet, it looks (and sounds) quite fancy! I enjoy it for breakfast, lunch and dinner… though it usually doesn’t last more than a few hours in my house. I’ve tried so many different flavor combinations and have found a few to be exceptionally successful. Since it is a custard base, however, there are many mistakes to be made – and I’ve probably made them all in my quest to bake the perfect quiche. I’ve added way too much milk, I didn’t whisk my eggs enough, I overcooked it, I under-cooked it and, today, I used raw tomatoes.

It was the most picturesque meal I’ve ever made but when I sliced into it, the center promptly fell apart. Since it was just for my family I wasn’t too embarrassed and it still went over well as a snow day lunch. I’m including the recipe I made today, with a few other filling suggestions, and most importantly some advice on how you can avoid a watery center. Hint: COOK THE TOMATOES

Quiche

Quiche

You probably have 99% of the ingredients on hand in your fridge… eggs, milk, veggies, cheese, meat. You can pick up some pie crust to keep frozen or skip the crust all together and call it a frittata.

*NOTE: The first time I made this, I didn’t roast my tomatoes and so my quiche was quite watery. It tasted great but totally fell apart. Roasting the tomatoes beforehand allows all the moisture to expel BEFORE you add them to the top of your quiche. Keep in mind that roasted tomatoes shrivel and aren’t so pretty. However, it definitely enhances the flavor. You can also use julienned sun-dried tomatoes and I’m sure it’ll taste just as good. I think I’ll try that next time.

Asparagus, Tomato and Goat Cheese Quiche:
Makes 1 Quiche

1 Store-bought Frozen 9″ Pie crust
1 bunch of Asparagus
2 medium tomatoes
About 4-5 Tbs. Crumbled Goat cheese
3 Medium Eggs
3/4 Cup Milk
Olive Oil
Salt, pepper

First Pre-heat your oven to 350, then prep the asparagus. Trim the hard ends off, place on a baking and sprinkle with olive oil, salt and pepper.

Next, slice the tomatoes as thin as you can. Place those next to the asparagus and also sprinkle with salt and pepper.
Roast in the oven for about 15 minutes or until the asparagus is tender.

While that’s in the oven, prep your eggs/milk. 

Pour 3/4 cup of milk into a large measuring cup. You can pour into a bowl OR just crack your eggs right into the measuring cup (Saving yourself a dish to wash)! Whisk them very well. Add about a tsp of salt and pepper and whisk again.

When the asparagus is ready, remove and transfer to a cutting board. You may want to keep the tomatoes in the oven a bit longer. Chop the asparagus into bite size pieces. Then, layer them on the bottom of the pie crust. Sprinkle 1/2 the crumbled goat cheese on top of the asparagus. Pour your egg mixture on top.

Take the tomatoes out of the oven and place them (using tongs) on top of the quiche. Sprinkle the remaining goat cheese on top.

BAKE at 350 for about 45 minutes, or until the quiche puffs and is completely set.

Let cool. Slice.

Enjoy.

Look out for my post on different ingredient combinations to try!

One thought on “When stuck inside in a blizzard… make quiche!

Leave a Reply

