Food · Uncategorized

Sweet and Spicy Cauliflower

Two things have been happening lately involving food.

  1. I have been trying so hard to “diet”… and by diet I mean limit my daily portions and carb/sugar intake and eat lots of fruits and veggies. I was totally inspired by the 21 Day Fix, but found it to be a bit TOO restrictive for my lifestyle (which right now involves spending 2/3 of my day at work with just a fridge and microwave… and endless take-out options).
  2. My Chinese food craving has been through the roof

So I decided to give in… kind of. I took 1/3 of my day and used it quite productively instead of binge watching Girlfriend’s Guide to Divorce. I created a new recipe, inspired by my love of sesame chicken, using everything Asian-inspired I found in my cupboard. I subbed Cauliflower for chicken and felt so much lighter. I plan on creating some serious cauliflower “wings” this way too! Who knew a head of cauliflower came with so many possibilities?!

While it didn’t turn out exactly as crispy as I’d like, it totally satisfied my craving and didn’t give me that awful Chinese food stomach we all know and love. I was satiated for hours after! I’m now realizing this is maybe the most complicated thing I’ve ever made on my own… and yet it’s still pretty simple. I can’t wait to make it again!

Sweet and Spicy CauliflowerSticky Cauliflower.

Sweet and Spicy Cauliflower
Serves: 4

1 – medium head of cauliflower, chopped into pieces

For the batter:
1/2 Cup – Whole wheat flour
1/2 Cup – Water
2 Tbs. – Coconut (or Olive) Oil
Salt, Pepper, onion powder

For the sauce:
5 Tbs. – Bragg’s Liquid Aminos (Substitute: Soy sauce)
4 Tbs. – Rice wine vinegar
2 Tbs. – Hot sauce or Sriracha
3 Tbs. – 100% Pure Maple syrup
3 Tbs. – Raw Honey
2 1/2 Tbs. – Sesame Seeds (*SAVE 1 1/2 to top cooked cauliflower with*)
2 – Green onions (*SAVE to top cooked cauliflower with*)

Pre-heat oven to 450, then begin by combining the batter ingredients in a deep bowl. Stir well. Coat the cauliflower pieces and lay on a greased (or foil lined) baking sheet. Drizzle with oil.

Bake cauliflower at 450 degrees for 15-20 minutes, or until batter is crisp, turning half way. 

While cauliflower is cooking, toast the sesame seeds & mix your sauce. Combine all of the ingredients in a bowl and whisk well. Make sure to taste and adjust as you’d like. *Be sure to reserve 1 1/2 Tbs sesame seeds and green onions for the end.*

Once it’s done, remove cauliflower from the oven and set on a heat resistant surface. CAREFULLY drizzle the sauce on each piece of cauliflower, turning to coat evenly. Return to oven for an additional 10-15 minutes. 

Top cauliflower with remaining sesame seeds and green onion. 

Serve on top of brown or multi-grain  rice for a hearty meal or on the side of a salad for a lighter option. I used coleslaw mix, arugula and sliced almonds (I love a crispy salad) and topped with extra hot sauce.

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

