Food · Uncategorized

Hello Fresh!

As a lover of snail mail and all things food, I’m not sure if there’s ever been something more perfect than Hello Fresh! 

I’ve had my eye on Hello Fresh and the likes (Plated, Blue Apron) for quite some time but was quite hesitant to make the commitment. (Have I mentioned I’m terrible at making decisions?) It was seriously the best surprise when my Aunt Marianne handed me a card for Christmas with a note telling me she bought me a Hello Fresh box! I can’t think of a more perfect gift!

IMG_3466

IMG_3481

I eagerly checked the website waiting to see the upcoming recipes and found a set that I loved! I went with the vegetarian box since I’m not a BIG meat eater (I stick to chicken, turkey and fish) and I didn’t want to experiment with beef or pork. I do wish Hello Fresh had a Poultry or Fish option, as well. However, the more veggies you can eat, the better!

You pick your delivery date and receive a box filled with all the ingredients to make three meals for two people. Just add oil. The meals I received were Baked Sweet Potato with Grated Salad and Sticky Seeds, Crispy Chickpea and Roasted Cauliflower Salad with Quinoa and Roasted Garlic Vinaigrette and Tortellini en Brodo. All three were simple enough to make, delicious and something I haven’t tried making myself before. While for some recipes there was a lot of prep-work involved, thankfully I enjoy chopping and grating and getting messy! The meals are packed in three separate boxes that hold all of the ingredients, so you don’t find yourself looking around, loosing things or accidentally using something in another recipe! It was so convenient and my favorite part are the large recipe cards, which not only list directions but all the ingredients so you can totally go to the store and make each recipe again! There are a few things I would do differently but I plan on re-creating these recipes sometime soon.

IMG_3584

I totally recommend Hello Fresh to anyone who loves to cook and wants to try new foods but are cautious about it. My delivery was right on time and held fresh in the box throughout the day (I didn’t have time to unload my things when I received it in the morning). All of my ingredients were pure, fresh and clearly labeled. It was fun to try new things – my teenage sister even helped – and I got 3 servings out of each of the meals, so I had leftovers for lunch the next day or for my dad to try.

I’m excited to order another box soon!!

 

Leave a Reply

